New members appointed to KAVHA Advisory Committee

I am pleased to announce the appointment of two new expert members to the Kingston and Arthur’s Vale Historic Area (KAVHA) Advisory Committee.

The newly appointed expert members of the committee are Janet Carding and Duncan Edwards.

Janet brings with her broad experience in museums, along with a well-established reputation for working with heritage properties. She is the Executive Director of the Sydney Harbour Trust and she joined the Harbour Trust on 30 August 2022 from the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG), a leading natural, cultural and heritage organisation.

Duncan Edwards is a member of the Norfolk Island Council of Elders and contributes many years of experience of working in the community, particularly the knowledge and skills from his extensive time as a member of the KAVHA maintenance team.

Janet and Duncan join Dr Jane Harrington in providing expert advice to conserve and progress the KAVHA site.

The current community members – Duncan Evans, David Evans and Susan Prior – will be reappointed for a period of two years.

Together, the Advisory Committee members bring a wide range of experience and interests in areas relevant to management of the KAVHA site, including heritage, Norfolk Island culture, conservation, archaeology, collection management, land use management, communications, tourism and business development.

The next meeting of the KAVHA Advisory Committee will be held on island on 27 March 2023.

If you would like to know more about the committee, please contact Mr Grant Anderson, Director, Norfolk Island Branch, Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts on +6723 23115 or

Mr Eric Hutchinson

Chair, KAVHA Advisory Committee