Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

What the Airports Branch Does

The Branch"s primary responsibility is the regulation of 21 leased federal airports on Commonwealth land. The Branch administers the Airports Act 1996, its associated regulations and the airport head leases.

Leased Federal Airports

Canberra Sydney Brisbane Darwin
  Bankstown Gold Coast Alice Springs
  Camden Townsville Tennant Creek
    Mt. Isa  
Melbourne Hobart Adelaide Perth
Essendon Launceston Parafield Jandakot

The oversight functions include:

  • airport planning, development and land use;
  • airport insurance compliance;
  • airport environment and building control regulation; and
  • payment of Government rates and taxes.

The leased federal airports were granted on long-term leases to private entities between 1997 and 2003. Prior to this, the airports were owned and managed by the Federal Airports Corporation (FAC). The Branch liaises regularly with Airport Lessee Companies (ALCs) on airport regulation and lease management.