Murray-Darling Basin Regional Economic Diversification

About the program

The Murray-Darling Basin Regional Economic Diversification Program (MDBREDP) has committed $72.65 million to assist Basin communities increase economic diversification and adjust to a water constrained environment.

Each of the Basin States of New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland selects projects within their jurisdictions in consultation with the Minister for Regional Development.

Information about applying for funding is available from the participating Basin States.

The funding allocation for each Basin State is (GST Exclusive):

  • Queensland: $15.055 million
  • New South Wales: $32.573 million
  • Victoria: $25.028 million

Further information

Further information on the framework and other initiatives to support the Plan’s implementation can be found on the following websites:

Murray Darling Basin Authority

Council of Australian Governments

Council on Federal Financial Relations

Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources