Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

Community radio

There are more than 400 licensed community radio stations in Australia. They operate under community radio licences, following the rules in the Broadcasting Services Act 1992.

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) allocates long-term community radio licences for five years at a time, following the rules in the Broadcasting Services Act 1992. These licences can be renewed.

New community broadcasters can apply to the ACMA for a temporary licence for up to one year. If the new community broadcaster is allocated a temporary licence, they may need to share the broadcast time if more than one group has been allocated a temporary licence in the same area.

Find out more:

Codes of practice

Codes of practice for the community broadcasting sector were developed by the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia.

The codes cover the responsibilities of broadcasting to the community, principles of diversity and independence, general programming guidelines and guidelines for news and current affairs, Australian music content, sponsorship, volunteers, conflict resolution, handling complaints and review of codes.