The Federal election was called on 10 April. As this website is hosted by the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications, the site will only be updated with material in line with the Caretaker Conventions. Please note that the content of this site relates to the Australian Government’s existing policy.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

2020 winners

2020 Category Award Winners

The winners of the 2020 National Awards for Local Government were announced on 24 July 2020.

The full details of the winners' projects can be found below.

2020 Category Winners

  • Arts Animates – creating vibrant and cohesive communities through the Arts DOCX: 309 KB

Winner: City of Wanneroo, WA

Project: DJ Course: Increasing local economic opportunity and inclusion

Winner: City of Busselton, WA

Project: Busselton Margaret River Airport Development Project

Winner: City of Mandurah, WA

Project: Entrepreneurial Capacity Building Program

Winner: City of Sydney, NSW

Project: Inclusive and Accessible Public Domain Policy and Guidelines

Winner: Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council, NSW

Project: Safe Systems Speed Project for Local Roads

Winner: Sunshine Coast Regional Council, QLD

Project: Migrant Work Ready—Pathways to Belonging and Employment

Winner: City of Greater Dandenong, VIC

Project: Youth United Against Family Violence

Winner: Glenelg Shire Council, VIC

Project: Glenelg Aboriginal Partnership National Reconciliation Week

Winner: Brimbank City Council, VIC

Project: Women's Leadership Programs