COVID-19 - update on restricted border entry to the Jervis Bay Territory

The Jervis Bay Territory (JBT) is a Commonwealth-administered territory, and is not part of New South Wales (NSW).

With COVID-19 continuing to pose a threat to the local community, the health and safety of elders and vulnerable residents of the Wreck Bay Aboriginal community and broader territory is our highest priority.

To protect the community through the COVID-19 pandemic, Public Health Emergency Directions are made regularly to protect residents and minimise risks to visitors.

The Public Health Directions in force in the JBT were recently amended to include COVID hotspots comprising the:

  • Greater Sydney region
  • Central Coast
  • Wollongong.

If you have been in these hotspot areas YOU ARE NOT TO ENTER the JBT without an approved exemption.

  • If you are a resident of JBT and have visited a hotspot, YOU MUST SELF-ISOLATE for 14 days in your home.
  • Person/s entering the JBT MUST PROVIDE INFORMATION (including photo identification) if required by an emergency services officer.

If you fail to comply with the above Directions, you may be committing an offence and risk significant penalties including fines of up to $8,000.

The full list of declared hotspot local government areas in Schedule 1 of the ACT Public Health (COVID-19 Interstate Hotspots) Emergency Direction 2021 (No. 2) is available here:

The latest Public Health Directions for the JBT and other information is available via the QR code below: