Celebrating community spirit on Australia Day

Media Release
13 January

Australia Day is an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate the contribution that every Australian makes to our dynamic nation and I was pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Australia Day Awards yesterday at Government House.

Norfolk Island is a resilient and resourceful community and this is certainly reflected in the high caliber of this year's award recipients.

Citizen/s of the year—Jim and Louise Tavener

This year the "Citizen of the year" was co-awarded by the assessment panel for two very deserving people. Their achievements are individually impressive, and combined—even more so. It was with great pleasure that I could announce Jim and Louise as co-recipients.

Their contributions across Norfolk are too many to list (as many of you are well aware), and both, as a "team" and as individuals, Jim and Louise have volunteered many hours of their free time providing support and assistance to the community and to the betterment of the lives of others on Norfolk Island.

Young Citizen of the Year—Ivy Carr

Ivy is determined and committed to being an Ambassador for Norfolk Island. Recognised over a number of fields - academic, leadership, sports and community service activities, Ivy is passionate about her heritage and the Norfolk language.

Community Appreciation Award—James Garden

James has worked tirelessly as a volunteer for the St John Ambulance with dedication to providing the best service possible for the community. His volunteer services, including additional duties such as equipment checks and rostering of staff, ensure that Norfolk Islanders enjoy the best possible services from James and the team at St John"s.

Community Sports Award—Louise Donald

Lou, like others on Norfolk, wears many "hats" within the community. Lou was a foundation member in 2010 of the Norfolk Island Wa"a Outrigger volunteering many hours in promoting and establishing the Club. Lou's determination and drive was instrumental in getting the NOC the Rock event back up and running back in 2013-14.

The event has continued to grow, as evidenced by the 130-strong field participating this week.

Administrator's Awards for Community Services

This year I also provided some additional awards to community members who have provided extraordinary support in first aid over the Christmas period. This year, I was pleased to acknowledge: Ryan Christian, Jason Morrison, Dominic Evans, and Andre Forrester. Thank you for your assistance to the Norfolk Island community.

Young Endeavour Recipient—Curtis Buffett

I am pleased to advise that the Young Endeavour recipient this year is Curtis Buffett. This is a unique opportunity to take part in the Young Endeavour's voyage departing Sydney on 16 April 2018 and returning to Sydney on 26 April 2018.

We receive many applications each year, but the panel can only select one participant for Young Endeavour per year. As such, I would encourage all eligible community members to re-apply each year if they are still interested.

I congratulate all who were nominated this year, as well as the successful recipients of all of these awards. The dedication shown as volunteers and your support for the Norfolk Island community is admirable.

I would also like to thank everyone who attended the Australia Day event at Government House yesterday. It was a lovely day to celebrate with the community.

Eric Hutchinson