National Awards to recognise outstanding innovation by councils

The 2024 National Awards for Local Government are open for entries.

The National Awards offer an opportunity to celebrate local government achievements, and recognise the wonderful work they do to support and enrich their communities.

All elected local government organisations, local government associations and other recognised organisations that provide direct services to Australian communities are eligible to enter.

The entry process is quick, with entrants to provide five photos and 350 words or less describing their initiative.

There are 11 categories:

  1. Women in Local Government
  2. Waste Management,
  3. Road Safety
  4. Regional Growth
  5. Productivity through Infrastructure
  6. Indigenous Recognition
  7. Disaster Readiness and Recovery
  8. Creativity and Culture
  9. Cohesive Communities
  10. Career Starter
  11. Addressing Violence against Women and their Children.

Entries close 18 March 2024 and can be submitted online at:

Voting is then open to the community from 19 March to 26 April 2024.

Find out more