High Speed Rail Authority Board members announced

The Australian Government has announced the five Board members for the High Speed Rail Authority, which will begin operating on 13 June 2023.

The Board of the High Speed Rail Authority will be chaired by Ms Jill Rossouw.

The four other Board members will be Ms Gillian Brown, Ms Diane Crowther OBE, Mr Ian Hunt and Mr Neil Scales OBE.

The High Speed Rail Authority will oversee the development of the high-speed rail network along the east coast of Australia.

Ms Rossouw is an accomplished Non-Executive Director and Committee Chair, with multi-sector Board experience across privatised transport infrastructure entities, social infrastructure and public healthcare. She is currently a Board member of the Port of Brisbane. She is a Graduate of Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds multiple qualifications in the finance sector including a Master of Philosophy in Finance (University of Cambridge, UK).

Ms Crowther OBE is Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of High Speed One (HS1) Ltd, responsible for owning, operating and maintaining the HS1 high-speed railway in the United Kingdom (UK). She has extensive Board experience has a Masters in Transport and Logistics from Salford University and is a Fellow of the Institute of Leadership and Management.

Ms Brown is an experienced non-executive director with expertise in transport, infrastructure and fund management. She is current a director of Ausgrid and a non-executive director of Queensland Investment Corporation). She has an LLB (Hons) from the University of Queensland, a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment from FINSIA and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Hunt is a former infrastructure CEO with over 30 years’ experience in engineering and project management. His business management experience includes leadership of major project delivery and engineering services organisations and he was CEO of Moorebank Intermodal Company, a Commonwealth government business enterprise. Mr Hunt is currently a non-executive director of Canberra Light Rail and the Royal Melbourne Showgrounds.

Mr Scales OBE is an experienced infrastructure leader and was most recently the Director-General of the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Roads. He was formerly the CEO of Translink and the Director-General of Merseytravel in the UK. He has held numerous board positions and is currently chair of Austroads, a commissioner of the National Transport Commission and a member of the Queensland Transport and Logistics Council.

Find out more:

Read the Minister's media release https://minister.infrastructure.gov.au/c-king/media-release/all-aboard-high-speed-rail-authority