2022 National Awards for Local Government

Nominations for this year’s National Awards for Local Government are now open.

Now in their 36th year, the awards celebrate the achievements and positive impact local governments have on their communities. The awards highlight the creative and resourceful solutions implemented by local governments to overcome barriers and improve community outcomes.

Nominations are welcomed for projects across 11 categories:

  • Creativity and Culture
  • Productivity through Infrastructure
  • Regional Growth
  • Cohesive Communities
  • Road Safety
  • Addressing Violence against Women and their Children
  • Women in Local Government
  • Indigenous Recognition
  • Career Starter
  • Waste Management
  • Disaster Preparedness

Applications for the awards close 03 August 2022, followed by a 6 week voting period. Winners will be announced in October 2022.

To nominate a local government or for more information on the awards, including previous winners and their projects, visit the National Awards for Local Government page.

Find out more

Story image of Moama Lights – 2021 Creativity and Culture entrant, provided by Murray River Council.