Coronavirus response—state of emergency declared in Jervis Bay Territory

The Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories, the Honourable Nola Marino MP, has extended the declared state of emergency for the Jervis Bay Territory (JBT) for the period 25 March 2020 to 23 April 2020, to 24 April to 23 May 2020 as part of the ongoing response to the evolving COVID-19 (Coronavirus) situation.

This has been done to protect and best support the JBT, with the health and wellbeing of the community being the first priority.

As at 7 May 2020, there were no known cases of COVID-19 in the JBT.

The state of emergency declaration in the JBT under the Jervis Bay Territory Emergency Management Ordinance 2015 will provide powers to the JBT Emergency Management Committee, and Emergency Services supporting the JBT, to assist to manage any spread of COVID-19.

The Australian Government advises against all non-essential travel, including domestic travel, and this includes travel to and within the JBT, unless absolutely necessary.

JBT residents should follow Australian Government and state and territory government advice, including on travel restrictions, health, hygiene, social distancing and self-isolation.

For further information, see or phone the Coronavirus Health Information Line on 1800 020 080.

Contact for more information: | 1300 732 749

Some of the instruments published are no longer in force, or have been amended by subsequently made instruments, at the time of publishing.

Instruments, media releases and community bulletins relating to COVID-19 (Coronavirus) are available on the Community Bulletins 2020 page.

Last updated: 7 May 2020

The copies of the public health emergency declaration instruments and the direction that Commonwealth officers may exercise public health emergency powers are sourced from the Federal Register of Legislation at 7 May 2020. For the latest information on Australian Government law please go to