Career opportunity - Territories

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts (DITRDCA) administers essential infrastructure and services to the non-self-governing territories of Norfolk Island, Jervis Bay Territory, Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands. DITRDCA also administers the Ashmore and Cartier Islands and the Coral Sea Islands territories, and manage national interests in the Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory.

Your work will help shape key legislative, essential service delivery, and strategic economic, environmental and governance decisions and policies.

Priorities include:

  • Identifying, developing and delivering policy and operational advice on key issues such as economic and environmental sustainability, crown land management, regulatory and governance frameworks, legal frameworks and legal reforms, infrastructure investment, community development and efficient service delivery.
  • Efficient and effective delivery of state-type services via the management of contracts with non-government suppliers, service delivery agreements with government entities or delivered directly to non-self-governing territories.
  • Identifying, developing and delivering capital project works to maintain, improve or replace infrastructure in non-self-governing territories.
  • Providing strategic policy advice on self-governing territory matters in the Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory.

If you'd like to find out more about this portfolio area, visit our Territories section.

Explore career opportunities

Find out more about the work we do and what might interest you by clicking on the below links.