PFAS—your questions answered

Which airports are involved in the program?


A total of eight airports across Australia are included in the pilot program.

Pilot Airport Sites featuring Brisbane, Bankstown, Canberra, Melbourne, Launceston, Hobart, Adelaide and  Parafield.

Why is the program only investigating airports?

This program is investigating the airports where the Commonwealth has previously conducted firefighting activities identified to have used PFAS-containing foams. There are many other PFAS investigation programs, please see our related information page.

Frequently asked questions

The document below provides answers to frequently asked questions about the department's PFAS Airports Investigation Program.

If you want to find out more about environmental or health concerns relating to PFAS, please see our information page.