Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

JCTEC terms of reference

The Terms of Reference are currently under review

Purpose of the Council

  1. The Council’s purpose and intent is to drive competitive reforms so that Tasmanian individuals, households and businesses are more likely to see lower prices, more innovative and efficient businesses with higher quality products, more job opportunities and sustained prosperity.

Focus of the Council

  1. The Council’s primary focus will be to consider the competitive reforms required to boost Tasmania’s long-term growth.
  2. The Council will provide advice on matters referred to it by governments as well as issues or themes it identifies itself.
  3. The Council may also be asked by governments to provide advice on particular policy issues or reviews. This may include the recommendations from the Productivity Commission review, in conjunction with the ACCC, on Tasmania’s shipping costs and the competitiveness of Tasmania’s freight industry structure and economic infrastructure. This may also include the removal of unnecessary or excessive regulations.
  4. The Council may also be asked to provide advice on aspects of the Economic Growth Plan for Tasmania.
  5. The Council will engage with others to establish, as far as possible, the broadest consensus to drive change.

Work plan

  1. The Council will develop its own work plan based on its assessment of priority areas for action with a focus on value adding in primary industries and manufacturing.
  2. The Council will participate in policy development by providing advice to governments on agreed proposals for competitive reform and provide recommendations for implementing such reforms. The Council is an advisory body; it will not make binding decisions on governments or direct the work of other government bodies.

Membership of the Council

  1. The Council will be jointly chaired by the Prime Minister and Mr Dale Elphinstone. The Commonwealth Treasurer, the Commonwealth Minister for Industry, the Premier of Tasmania, the Tasmanian Treasurer and the Chair of the Tasmanian Major Projects Approval Agency will also be members of the Council.
  2. Membership of the Council will be limited to ten central members with initial membership terms of 18 months for non-government members. Members will be appointed by the Prime Minister. Up to two short-term members may also be appointed where particular expertise is required. Other relevant ministers may also participate on occasion.
  3. Non-government members of the Council will not be remunerated. However, the Commonwealth will meet their travel and associated expenses.
  4. Members may not speak on behalf of the Council.

Frequency of meetings

  1. The Council will meet at least quarterly commencing in December 2013. Meetings will be held in either Tasmania or Canberra.


  1. The Commonwealth Treasury will provide secretariat support for the Council. This will include drafting the agendas and records and preparing policy papers as requested. Other government agencies and the private sector may also produce papers for the consideration of the Council, as appropriate.


  1. The role of the Council will be reviewed by 30 May 2015 to ensure it is fulfilling its purpose.

Public Record of Meetings

  1. A brief record of meetings will be published on the Treasury website following each meeting to communicate the Council’s broad considerations to the Tasmanian community.