

Communiqué

SOUTH AUSTRALIA FRIDAY, 18 MAY 2012

The 2nd meeting of the Standing Council on Transport and Infrastructure (the Standing Council) was held in South Australia today to consider a range of major transport reforms. The Standing Council includes Transport, Infrastructure and Planning Ministers from the Commonwealth, States and the Territories, New Zealand and the Australian Local Government Association.

NATIONAL TRANSPORT REGULATOR REFORMS

Today Ministers took several major decisions to advance the historic reform process that will see the establishment of national heavy vehicle, rail safety and maritime safety regulators from 1 January 2013.

Ministers unanimously agreed to the national law to establish the Australian Maritime Safety Authority as the National Maritime Regulator of domestic commercial vessels. The national law is to be introduced into the Commonwealth Parliament in the coming session.

Ministers congratulated the South Australian Minister and the National Rail Safety Regulator Project Office on the passing of the Rail Safety National Law through the South Australian Parliament this month and noted the significance of this milestone in the move to establish the National Rail Safety Regulator, noting New South Wales will continue its current approaches to fatigue management and drug and alcohol testing as part of the national regulations.

Today Ministers agreed to appoint Robin Stewart-Crompton, Coral Taylor, Peter Garske and Vince Tremaine to the National Heavy Regulator Board which is chaired by the Hon Bruce Baird AO. These individuals bring a wealth of skills and experience to the Board, including extensive transport, business and finance expertise and strong leadership to shape this national body. An announcement on the Chief Executive Officer is expected in the near future.

HEAVY VEHICLES

Ministers also agreed today to release the National Transport Commission's charging model in a format that is user friendly for industry to improve the transparency of the current charging arrangements and maximise the opportunity for industry engagement in reforms to the national system of charges.

Ministers further agreed that the National Transport Commission complete a comprehensive review of the heavy vehicle charging system, including the balance of charging mechanisms and a review of the assumptions and methodologies used to determine charges to ensure they are practical and fair. This review is to be completed by mid-2013.

Ministers also agreed to the adoption of a single national modular B-triple vehicle specification which will enable modular B-triples to have access to the current road train network on the same basis as double (Type I) road trains. This is a significant productivity enhancement for the heavy vehicle sector.

NATIONAL AIRPORT SAFEGUARDING FRAMEWORK

Ministers agreed a National Airports Safeguarding Framework, a national land use planning regime to protect airports and communities from inappropriate off-airport development, noting reservations from New South Wales on the format of the guideline on measures for managing impacts of aircraft noise.

The agreement represents a collective commitment from Governments to ensure that an appropriate balance is maintained between the social, economic and environmental needs of the community and the effective use of airport sites.

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP	Minister for Infrastructure and Transport (Commonwealth)
The Hon Catherine King MP	Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport (Commonwealth)
The Hon Gladys Berejiklian MP	Minister for Transport (New South Wales)
The Hon Duncan Gay MLC	Minister for Roads and Ports (New South Wales)
The Hon Terry Mulder MP	Minister for Roads, Minister for Public Transport (Victoria)
The Hon Dr Denis Napthine MP	Minister for Ports, Minister for Major Projects (Victoria)
The Hon Scott Emerson MP	Minister for Transport and Main Roads (Queensland)
The Hon Patrick Conlon MHA	Minister for Transport, Minister for Infrastructure (South Australia)
The Hon David O'Byrne MP	Minister for Infrastructure (Tasmania)
The Hon Gerry McCarthy MLA	Minister for Transport; Lands and Planning (Northern Territory)
The Hon Simon Bridges MP	Associate Minister of Transport (New Zealand) representing the Hon Gerry Brownlee MP
Councillor Paul Bell	Councillor, Emerald Shire Council, Queensland (Australian Local Government Association)