Australian Government Department of Communications and the Arts

Successful grant recipients under the Regional Journalism Scholarships Program

As part of the landmark reforms being made to Australia's media laws, the Government is providing much needed support to the media industry through the \$60 million Regional and Small Publishers Jobs and Innovation Package. The Package includes the:

- Regional and Small Publishers Innovation Fund
- Regional and Small Publishers Cadetships Program
- Regional Journalism Scholarships Program.

What's the Regional Journalism Scholarships Program?

The Government is supporting journalism scholarships for higher education providers to award to students from regional or remote areas.

The scholarships will help students from these areas acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to operate effectively as journalists in the contemporary news media industry, and be job-ready at the completion of their studies.

Eligible higher education providers can apply for a grant of up to \$40,000 (GST exclusive) per scholarship.

Which organisations were awarded grants under the program?

Almost \$2.3 million is being provided to successful grant recipients under the first funding round. The grants will fund 66 scholarships at 16 Australian universities.

A complete list of successful grant recipients is at Attachment A.

Where can I go for further information?

If you have further questions, contact us at <u>RegionalInnovation@communications.gov.au</u> or on 02 6271 1400 or go to our website <u>www.communications.gov.au/regionalinnovation</u>.

Attachment A

Grant recipients under the Regional Journalism Scholarships Program

- Bond University
- Central Queensland University
- Charles Sturt University
- Curtin University
- Deakin University
- Griffith University
- La Trobe University
- Monash University
- Murdoch University
- RMIT University
- The University of Queensland
- University of Canberra
- University of Melbourne
- University of South Australia
- University of Technology Sydney
- University of Wollongong

