Official



Norfolk Island Teacher Consultative Committee – Communique #1

Following announcement of the establishment of a Norfolk Island Teachers Consultative Committee on 27 August 2021 by the Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories, the Hon Nola Marino MP, the first meeting of the Committee was held on Wednesday 1 September 2021.

The Committee is chaired by the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications. Membership of the Committee includes representatives from the following entities:

- Norfolk Island Central School
- NSW Teachers Federation
- Queensland Teachers Union
- NSW Department of Education
- Queensland Department of Education
- Norfolk Island Administrator
- Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications

The Committee discussed the purpose, scope and key principles that will govern the Committee and identified critical issues that need to be addressed and associated timeframes to resolve these. The Committee agreed to progress its work through key principles of no disadvantage to staff or students; a student and staff centred approach to discussions; and continuity of education.

The Committee will meet weekly during school term time to discuss key transition issues of the teaching employment conditions and curriculum related matters.

Sarah Vandenbroek Chair – Norfolk Island Teacher Consultative Committee