Meeting Outcomes

National Emerging Aviation Technologies Consultative Committee 9.30 – 10.30am, 9 June 2021

The National Emerging Aviation Technologies (NEAT) Consultative Committee met on 9 June 2021 to discuss the implementation of initiatives announced with the release of the NEAT Policy Statement as part of the Australian Government's Digital Economy Strategy.

At the meeting, the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications (the Department) presented its initial considerations on four initiatives:

- the forthcoming drones.gov.au website, a hub for information and resources relating to drones and other emerging aviation technologies, such as advanced air mobility (AAM)
- the Drone Rule Management System (DRMS), which will manage non-safety related rules that apply to drones, encompassing rules related to security, noise, privacy, environmental impacts and impacts on cultural sites
 - the Department advised it would be conducting a procurement to develop detailed system requirements for DRMS in the 2021-22 financial year
- the proposed Infrastructure Planning Framework, which will bring together the many considerations and planning processes involved in infrastructure development for emerging aviation technologies
- the Emerging Aviation Technologies Partnerships (EATP) program, under which the
 Department will enter into partnerships with industry stakeholders to deliver innovative
 projects that further emerging aviation technologies
 - o further information on the EATP is available on the Department's website at https://www.infrastructure.gov.au/aviation/technology/drones/eatp.aspx

Actions:

Action	Responsible
Develop and publish a public-facing document setting out indicative timelines for	Department
initiatives announced in the NEAT Policy Statement, to provide stakeholders with	
visibility of the policy development process.	
Schedule a meeting of the NEAT Consultative Committee's Unmanned Traffic	Department
Management working group in June or July 2021	
Publish meeting outcomes on the Department's website	Department

Attendees:

Members:

Reece Clothier, Australian Association for Unmanned Systems

Michael Monck, Recreational Aviation Australia

Zac Kennedy, Swoop Aero

Andrew Moore, AMSL Aero

Jackie Dujmovic, Hover UAV

Natasha Santha, LEK

Terry Martin, Revolution Aero

Adam Welsh, DJI

Clem Newton-Brown, Skyportz

Jesse Suskin, Wing

Australian Government:

Richard Wood, First Assistant Secretary, International Aviation, Technology and Services (Chair)

Mitch Dunn, A/g Assistant Secretary, Safety and Future Technology

Ben Lyons, Director, Airspace and Future Technology

Matthew Stein, Airservices Australia Liaison

Kevin Scrimshaw, Civil Aviation Safety Authority Liaison

Desi Weber, Assistant Director

Hugh Ross, Assistant Director

Apologies:

Emma Wilson, Airlines for Australia and New Zealand

Brad Mason, Australian Certified UAV Operators

Paul Hersbach, Australia Post

Sid Marris, Minerals Council of Australia

Meg Kummerow, National Farmers Federation