

COMMUNIQUE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE AND TRANSPORT MINISTERS' MEETING

FRIDAY, 9 JUNE 2023

Infrastructure and Transport Ministers have met in Perth over the past day and half, welcoming the Hon Jo Haylen MP as the new NSW representative and congratulating the Hon Rita Saffioti MLA on her swearing in as WA Deputy Premier.

Decarbonisation of the transport and infrastructure sectors

Ministers acknowledged that emissions from the transport and infrastructure sectors would rise as a proportion of overall emissions unless further steps were taken to address climate change. As a result, ministers agreed to establish a new Decarbonisation of Transport Working Group to improve national coordination and help oversee a new transport decarbonisation work plan and shared principles for national transport decarbonisation.

Ministers further agreed to work together, and in consultation with industry, to develop a nationally consistent approach for measuring embodied carbon in infrastructure projects and consider further policy levers available to reduce emissions.

Market capacity constraints affecting the construction industry

Ministers noted the progress of initiatives underway to address market capacity constraints affecting the construction industry, and discussed the Commonwealth's 90-day independent strategic review (the Review) of the Infrastructure Investment Program (IIP).

Improving interoperability of rail systems

Ministers agreed to codify a small number of high-impact interoperability standards required to achieve nation-wide safety and productivity benefits. The standards will be performance-based with a priority focus on digital train technology, a single on-board interface for drivers and crew, and streamlining rolling stock approvals. The National Transport Commission (NTC) will report back to ITMM in late 2023 with a draft standards framework, informed by ministers' endorsement of the NTC's work program. Ministers also asked that a stock take and gap analysis be undertaken of the current supply chain capacity in the Australian rail manufacturing sector, including identifying opportunities to support local suppliers to grow and have greater ability to deliver componentry to support local outcomes.

Ministers also tasked senior officials to develop terms of reference for a review of the Rail Safety National Law for consideration out of session as soon as practicable, with officials to also consider the proposed cost recovery model.

Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) review reform

Ministers endorsed proposed amendments to the HVNL, with the NTC to develop drafting instructions for an Amendment Bill and develop core regulations in consultation with industry. Ministers noted an aspirational goal of having a package of legislation and core regulations presented to ITMM for approval in July 2024, with an update to be provided at the next meeting.

Accessible Public Transport – Stage 2 reforms

Ministers thanked people with disability for coming forward and sharing their stories about accessing public transport. The lived experience of people with disability has helped shape the reform and modernisation of the Transport Standards. Ministers also acknowledged the extensive input and collaboration from governments and transport operators and providers to the reform process.

Ministers agreed jurisdictions would develop prioritised plans to implement the preferred reform options, and undertook to consider how best to publish these plans and report annually on progress in delivery both to ITMM and publicly. Ministers tasked officials with developing a flexible implementation approach for the reforms that apply to existing assets and infrastructure.

Level Crossing Safety

Ministers committed to improving level crossing safety across Australia and welcomed industry stakeholders' willingness to endorse a code of practice on increased train illumination, reflecting findings from industry trials. Ministers noted the proposed National Level Crossing Safety Strategy 2023-32 and asked senior officials to conduct consultations on the strategy before considering its adoption later in 2023.

Review of the National Freight and Supply Chain Strategy

In recognition of the importance of Australia's freight and supply chain network to the national economy and ongoing productivity enhancements, Ministers agreed in principle to bring forward the first review of the National Freight and Supply Chain Strategy to commence this calendar year.

Next meeting

Ministers agreed to next meet in December 2023, with Tasmania to host the next meeting followed by Queensland in early 2024.

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS

The Hon Catherine King MP	Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and
	Local Government
	(Commonwealth)
The Hon Jo Haylen MP	Minister for Transport
	(New South Wales)
The Hon Jacinta Allan MP	Deputy Premier, Minister for Transport and Infrastructure, Minister for
	the Suburban Rail Loop, Minister for Commonwealth Games Delivery
	(Victoria)
The Hon Mark Bailey MP	Minister for Transport and Main Roads
	(Queensland)
The Hon Tom Koutsantonis MP	Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Minister for Energy and
	Mining
	(South Australia)
The Hon Rita Saffioti MLA	Deputy Premier, Treasurer, Minister for Transport, Minister for
	Tourism
	(Western Australia)
The Hon Michael Ferguson MP	Deputy Premier, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Minister for
	Planning
	(Tasmania)
The Hon Eva Lawler MLA	Treasurer, Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics
	(Northern Territory)
Mr Chris Steel MLA	Minister for Transport and City Services; Minister for Skills; Special
	Minister of State
	(Australian Capital Territory)

INVITED GUESTS

Senator the Hon Tim Ayres	Assistant Minister for Manufacturing, Assistant Minister for Trade
	(Commonwealth)
Cr Linda Scott	President
	Australian Local Government Association
Ms Carolyn Walsh	Chair
	National Transport Commission
Ms Dimi Rigas	a/g Chief Executive Officer
	National Transport Commission
Mr Peter Doggett	Chief Executive Officer
	Office of the National Safety Regulator
Mr Raymond Hassall	a/g Chief Executive Officer
	National Heavy Vehicle Regulator