## STATEMENT ON THE 6 FEBRUARY 2023 MEETING OF THE HEAVY VEHICLE NATIONAL LAW REFORM IMPLEMENTATION STEERING COMMITTEE

8 March 2023

The third meeting of the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL) Reform Implementation Steering Committee meeting was held via GovTeams on Monday 6 February 2023.

The first meeting of the new year provided an opportunity to discuss continuing progress on implementing the reform agenda and canvas a number of key issues.

The Steering Committee comprises the following members:

- Mr Jim Betts, Secretary, Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts (Commonwealth)
- Mr Rob Sharp, Secretary, Transport for New South Wales (New South Wales)
- Mr Neil Scales, Director-General, Department of Transport and Main Roads (Queensland)
- Mr Gary Swain, Deputy Secretary, Transport and Infrastructure, Department of State Growth (Tasmania).

At the most recent meeting on 6 February 2023, Mr Scales (Queensland) was represented by Mr Geoff Magoffin, Department of Transport and Main Roads. The Steering Committee continues to receive independent advice from Mr Matt Pinnegar (Chief Executive Officer, Australian Local Government Association) and Mr Ken Kanofski.

The Steering Committee received a presentation from the National Transport Commission (NTC), providing an update on the legislative reform program. NTC noted that while the reforms remain on track overall, there are risks and particular challenges in some areas. The NTC discussed progress against those particular milestones and outlined how they intended to manage issues and keep work progressing within the agreed timeframes, and indicated that Steering Committee intervention was not needed at this time. The Steering Committee acknowledged that some reform areas would be particularly challenging to implement and asked the NTC to bring forward a strategy to the next meeting outlining how they intend to address these challenges and engage with relevant stakeholders.

The Steering Committee also noted the progress of the non-legislative reforms and endorsed milestones for monitoring progress implementing those reforms.

Four reforms are subject to further discussion, and milestones will be agreed by the Committee for those reforms out of session. Progress reporting against all agreed milestones will be a standing reporting item at future meetings.

There was further discussion on the proposed approach to the national automated access system, and the Steering Committee felt that additional work was needed to accurately capture the high-level system requirements and intended roles of all parties. It was acknowledged that reaching agreement on a set of principles that would guide development of the national access system was important for all parties in progressing this reform. When finalised, a statement to update industry on the national automated access system will be made publicly available.

The Steering Committee agreed to invite Austroads and the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) to the next meeting to present on work they are doing relevant to a national automated access system.

The Steering Committee will report to the Infrastructure and Transport Senior Officials Committee on an ongoing basis.

The next meeting of the Steering Committee will be on 20 March 2023.

PARTICIPATING MEMBERS	
Mr Jim Betts	Secretary, Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts – DITRDCA (Commonwealth)
Mr Rob Sharp	Secretary, Transport for New South Wales (New South Wales)
Mr Geoff Magoffin (proxy for Mr Neil Scales)	Deputy Director-General, Department of Transport and Main Roads (Queensland)
Mr Gary Swain	Deputy Secretary, Transport and Infrastructure, Department of State Growth (Tasmania)
INDEPENDENT ADVISORS	
Mr Matt Pinnegar	Chief Executive Officer, Australian Local Government Association
Mr Ken Kanofski	Ken Kanofski Advisory