Australian Government guidance on the Optus data breach

Our work at the ITU

Image of Koala sitting in a tree to exemplify Australia’s unique native fauna.

Australia's support and direct involvement with the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and its predecessor organisation dates back to 1878.

We have been an active Council member for Region E (Asia and Australasia) since 1959 and we work hard to get the best outcomes for our region and the broader ITU.

If successful at the 2022 elections, Australia will continue to work collaboratively with Council members to ensure the ITU can meet the challenges arising from rapid changes in the global telecommunications environment.


Council members represent five regions

Region A The Americas 35 Member States 9 seats  
Region B Western Europe 33 Member States 8 seats  
Region C Eastern Europe 21 Member States 5 seats  
Region D Africa 54 Member States 13 seats  
Region E Asia and Australasia 50 Member States 13 seats (our region)

About the ITU

The ITU is a United Nations specialised agency bringing together governments and industry to develop efficient and affordable global telecommunication networks and services. It focuses on standardisation, radio spectrum management, and the development of and access to information communication technology.