Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

Australian Broadband Advisory Council working groups


The Agri-Tech Expert Working Group (AEWG) considered how connectivity and digital technology could enhance productivity and support opportunities for growth across the agricultural sector.

A project brief was released identifying AEWG's initial focus, key issues and strategic thinking.

In September 2021 the final Agri-Tech Expert Working Group report was released.

Members of the AEWG are:

Ms Andrea Koch Principal, AgTech
Mr Peter Waters Consultant, Gilbert + Tobin
Ms Nicole Curtis CEO, Grower Group Alliance
Mr Leighton Wilksch Director & AgTechnologist, Agbyte
Dr Michele Allan Chair, Wine Australia
Mr Peter Thompson Farmer, Echo Hills Farming Company
Mr Richard Heath Executive Director, Australian Farm Institute
Ms Christine Mulhearn Assistant Secretary, Innovation and Consumers Branch, Department of Agriculture, Water and Environment


The Australian Broadband Advisory Council (the Council) is advising the Australian Government about ways in which digital and broadband communications infrastructure can be used to lift the construction sector's economic output.

The Construction Expert Working Group (CEWG) will consider how to support the faster adoption of digital technologies across the construction sector in order to drive productivity growth, with a focus on regions and small-to-medium enterprises. Terms of Reference for the CEWG are available.

Mr Craig Laslett is convenor of the CEWG. Mr Laslett is the Managing Director at Leed Engineering and Construction Pty Ltd, and has an extensive background in the design, construction, operation and maintenance of significant public and private infrastructure assets.

Mr Laslett has led a number of complex and diversified businesses spanning transport infrastructure, mining and resources, building and industrial sectors, including as the Managing Director of Leighton Contractors and CEO of Lendlease Engineering.

Members of the CEWG are:

Member name Position
Craig Laslett (Convenor) Managing Director, Leed Engineering and Construction
Matthew Browne Managing Partner, Black Nova Group
David Murray Chief Executive Officer, Buildxact
Jon Davies Chief Executive Officer, Australian Constructors Association
Rebecca Halliday Director—Indigenous Services Group, Deloitte
Gareth O'Reilly Zone President Pacific—General Management, Schneider Electric
Duncan Bryce Head of Builders Solutions, Bunnings
Shane Graham Executive General Manager, Humes Australia
Luke Belfield Associate Victorian Chief Engineer, Office of Projects Victoria
Vlatka Varagic Manager GIS ANZ, SMEC
Peter Colacino Chief of Policy and Research, Infrastructure Australia


The Health Expert Working Group (HEWG) examined the digital ecosystem across the health sector, with a specific focus on how connectivity, technology and data can support new models of care, including the accelerated use of telehealth during COVID-19.

In January 2022 the Health Expert Working Group report was released. Its recommendations include:

  • integrating digital health within the current health ecosystem
  • improving patient engagement with the health care system
  • extending the reach of the health care system to regional/rural areas and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities
  • improving digital skills for patients and health professionals.

Members of the HEWG are:

Adjunct Associate Professor Christine Giles Strategic Health Policy Advisor
Mr Luke Baxby National Healthcare Leader—Deloitte
Dr Dawn Casey Deputy Chief Executive Officer, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
Professor Adam Elshaug Professor in Health Policy, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne
Dr Gabrielle O'Kane Chief Executive Officer, National Rural Health Alliance
Ms Tania Rishniw Deputy Secretary for Primary and Community Care, Department of Health
Professor Anthony Smith Director, Centre for Online Health, University of Queensland
Mr Michael Walsh Chair, Digital Health Cooperative Research Centre
Ms Leanne Wells Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Health Forum of Australia