Time running out to nominate for local government recognition

Nominations remain open until 27 February for the 2015 National Awards for Local Government, which aim to recognise the sector's vital role in serving Australian communities.

The Awards are an annual celebration of local governments" achievements in delivering targeted, quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities.

Particular priority will be given to projects that make a meaningful difference to communities and that have the potential to be rolled out on a national scale.

The Awards, which began in 1986, are administered by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development with support from sponsoring Australian Government departments.

They give local governments the opportunity to share knowledge and experience while building the sector's profile.

Award categories include:

  • Arts Animates—excellence in community engagement and participation;
  • Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure;
  • Contributing to Regional Growth;
  • Disability Access and Inclusion;
  • Multicultural Australia—Strength in Diversity;
  • Promoting Indigenous Recognition;
  • Excellence in Road Safety; and
  • Youth Employment.

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss, a former Chairman of Kingaroy Shire Council in Queensland, launched the 2015 Awards on 14 January 2015.

Category winners will be announced in April 2015 and the National Award winner will be announced by the Deputy Prime Minister at the Australian Local Government Association National General Assembly dinner in June 2015.

For More Information