Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development

Transport for People with Disabilities

The Australian Government sees the ability to move around the community underpinning all aspects of life for people with disability. The National Disability Strategy, launched 21 March 2011, seeks to guide public policy across governments to ensure that people with disability have the same opportunities as other Australians.

Supporting the National Disability Strategy (NDS) the Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (the DDA) prohibits both direct and indirect discrimination on the grounds of disability, both to the person with a disability as well as family members, carers and friends.

The DDA allows disability standards to be formulated in a range of areas. The purpose of disability standards is to spell out in greater detail rights and obligations under the DDA, providing greater certainty about the Act's requirements. For more information on the DDA refer to the Attorney-General's Department.

Currently, three disability standards have been formulated:

  • Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport 2002 (Transport Standards)
  • Disability Standards for Education 2005 (the Standards)
  • Disability (Access to Premises—buildings) Standards 2010

Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport 2002, as amended

The Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport 2002 (Transport Standards) as amended, are formulated by the Attorney-General under subsection 31 (1) of the DDA.

The Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development has responsibility for providing public transport policy advice on the Transport Standards.

The Transport Standards were initially released on 23 October 2002 and subsequently amended in 2004, 2005 and 2010 with the current compilation, 1 May 2011, taking into account amendments up to Disability Standards for Accessible Public Transport Amendment 2010 (No.1).

The Transport Standards seek to provide a level of certainty to operators and providers of public transport conveyances and infrastructure about their responsibilities under the DDA. The Transport Standards also identify a series of target dates for compliance extending over a 30 year timeframe.

Part 34 of the Transport Standards requires the Minister, in consultation with the Attorney-General, to:

  1. review the efficiency and effectiveness of these Standards within 5 years after they take effect; and
  2. carry out a subsequent review every 5 years after the initial review.

The Review must include:

  1. whether discrimination has been removed as far as possible, according to the requirements for compliance set out in Schedule 1; and,
  2. any necessary amendments to these Standards.

2007 Review of the Transport Standards

The first five year review, commencing in 2007, was undertaken by an independent consultant, Allen Consulting Group, oversighted by a Steering Committee of senior officials. The final review report and Government response were publically released by the former Commonwealth Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Attorney-General and Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers on 3 June 2011.

As indicated in Recommendation 9 of the Government Response to the review, responsibility for implementing agreed actions and preparing further policy and regulatory material for consideration and decision by Ministers rested with the Accessible Public Transport Jurisdictional Committee (APTJC) with the Accessible Public Transport National Advisory Committee (APTNAC) supporting APTJC in an advisory capacity and the Aviation Access Working Group (AAWG) progressing work in relation to aviation matters.

Current committee membership of APTNAC as of May 2014 is as follows.

Accessible Public Transport National Advisory Committee (APTNAC)

Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Mr Marcus James—General Manager, Surface Transport Productivity Branch
  Government (APTJC representatives)
South Australia Mr Phil Saunders—Senior Project Manager, Stations, Interchanges and TODS, Infrastructure Division, SA Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure
Australian Capital Territory Ms Kerry Bell—Manager, Public Transport Regulation, Transport Regulation—Office of Regulatory Services, Justice and Community Safety Directorate, ACT Government
  Disability Sector
Australian Federation of Disability Organisations Mr Emilio Savle
Australian Federation of Disability Organisations Mr Kyle Miers
Carers Australia   Ms Sue Elderton
  Public Transport Industry
Bus Industry Confederation   Mr Michael Apps—Executive Director
Australasian Railway Association Mr Phil Allan—Director, Policy and Advocacy
Ms Rhianne Jory—Associate Director Environment and Regulation
Australian Taxi Industry Association Mr Blair Davies—Chief Executive Officer
UITP (International Public Transport Association Australia/New Zealand) Mr Rob Pearce—Executive Director
Australian Community Transport Association tba
Australian Human Rights Commission Ms Suan Ryan AO
Attorney-General's Department Ms Sonja Wigney—Senior Legal Officer, Human Rights Policy Branch, Attorney-General's Department
Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development Surface Transport Productivity Branch


Last Updated: 8 December, 2014